Providing Legal Counsel to Public and Non-Profit Agencies in California since 1981 De Lay & Laredo currently serves a variety of agencies as City Attorney, Counsel, General Counsel and Special Counsel.

Frances M. Farina


Business Phone: 831.646.1502
Business Fax: 831.646.0377

Practice Areas

Representation of public agencies in the areas of administrative, contract, real estate, environmental and water law

Representative Experience

General Counsel, Goleta Water District, Monterey Peninsula Water Management District


  • Water Resource Protection Manual for Florida Activists

Presentations and Speaking Engagements

  • “Water Law Survey Course” – Monterey College of Law
  • “Water Law Survey Course” – Ventura College of Law
  • Guest Lecturer – California Water Law Conference (CLE)

Honors and other distinctions

  • Attorney of the Year 2008 2009, California Special District Association, Santa Barbara County Chapter

Noteworthy cases

  • Applications before the CPUC – Water Supply related matters
  • Applications before the SWRCB – Water Rights related matters
  • Save Our Peninsula Committee v. Monterey County – CEQA Water Baseline

Public Service

Monterey Peninsula Water Management District General Manager, Carmel Valley Road Committee , Santa Barbara County Park Commissioner, Community Advisory Council to Santa Barbara County Air Pollution Control District


  • Nova University Law School – Juris Doctor (Top fifth of graduating class)
  • George Washington University – B.A. History

Court Admissions

  • California Supreme Court
  • All Florida State Courts
  • U.S. Supreme Court
  • U.S. District Court, Northern District of California
  • U.S. District Court, Southern District of Florida
  • U.S. Court of Appeals, Fifth, Ninth and Eleventh Circuits


  • California Bar Association
  • Florida Bar Association
  • Monterey College of Law, Board of Trustees
  • SPCA of Monterey County, Board of Directors
  • Friends of the Sea Otter, Trustee
  • Carmel Valley Property Owners Association
  • Director, Santa Barbara Audubon, Conservation and Science Committee
  • Los Padres Sierra Club, Steering Committee